D’incroyables photos pour célébrer les Gens au Travail à travers l’Afrique sur Wikipédia.

D’incroyables photos pour célébrer les Gens au Travail à travers l’Afrique sur Wikipédia.

Wiki In Africa est heureuse d’annoncer que les lauréats du concours photo Wiki Loves Africa ont enfin été révélés au Wiki Indaba à Tunis. Le jury international a eu la lourde tâche de sélectionner le groupe final de photos à partir de 18 294 photos (un record!) prises par 2473 personnes, dépeignant les gens au travail à travers le continent. Les autres prix portant sur des essais-photos ont été choisis par les organisateurs et les membres de la communauté  Wikimedia. 6 lauréats ont été choisis à l’échelle internationale.

Au-delà de ces trois prix, et dans une toute nouvelle catégorie imaginée cette année, d’autres prix ont été décernés aux collections de photos ou essai-photo qui illustrent soit les Femmes au Travail soit les Métiers et Artisanats Rares, Traditionnels ou en voie de Disparition. Cette dernière catégorie a reçu énormément de succès. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur les essais-photos et les critères de sélection ici et découvrir les essais-photos reçus.

Le lauréat dans la catégorie essai-photo pour les Métiers et Artisanats Rares, Traditionnels ou en Voie de Disparition est  La fabrication des toits de chaume au Nigéria par user:Eric Atie et le lauréat pour la catégorie Femmes au Travail est  algues de Zanzibar en Tanzanie par user:Rachelclarareed.

Félicitations à tous les gagnants!

En 2017 Wiki Loves Africa célébrait Les Gens au Travail comme thème central de la célébration visuelle annuelle de la diversité culturelle de l’Afrique sur Wikipédia. Le concours s’est déroulé du 1er octobre au 30 novembre 2017 et les participations étaient ouvertes à n’importe qui sur le continent et au-delà.

Tout le monde était invité à partager des photos correspondant au concours. Les événements ont eu lieu dans 11 pays– Algérie, Cameroun, Côte d’Ivoire, Egypte, Ghana, Mali, Nigéria, Ouganda, Tanzanie et Tunisie – pour façonner une communauté Wikipédia avertie autour du concours. Ces événements ont pris la forme d’ateliers d’initiation, de sorties photos et de sessions de téléchargement et ont encouragé une fierté indéfectible de l’héritage local et de la pratique culturelle et ont nourri une culture de la contribution au net afin de bousculer l’histoire unique de l’Afrique.

Ces dernières quatre années, le concours Wiki Loves Africa a permis la contribution d’environ 40 000 photos sur Wikimedia Commons pour un usage potentiel sur Wikipédia. La première année, sous le signe de la Cuisine, 873 personnes ont partagé 6 116 photos. Le thème de l’année suivante, 2015, Mode Culturelle et Parures a vu 722 personnes contribuer à plus de 7 500 photos. En 2016, Musiques et Danses a permis l’ajout de 7 917 fichiers venant de 836 contributeurs.

Wiki Loves Africa est activé par la communauté Wikimedia qui a créé Wikipédia en soutien au mouvement WikiAfrica. Le concours a été conceptualisé et géré par Florence Devouard et Isla Haddow-Flood de Wiki In Africa comme un moteur engageant et excitant pour rééquilibrer le manque de représentations visuelles et de contenus essentiels sur l’Afrique sur Wikipédia. Le concours est soutenu par Ynternet.org. Il est financé par la Fondation Wikimedia et soutenu par un réseau de partenaires locaux dans chaque pays. Les images reçues sont disponibles pour un usage sur internet et au-delà, grâce à la licence Creative Commons CC BY SA 4.0.

###

INFORMATIONS UTILES:

PRINCIPAUX LIENS:

 

Communiqué de presse par Wiki In Africa

Pour toutes requêtes média internationales, contactez:

English: Isla Haddow-Flood

Cell: +27 76 077 3135

Email: isla @ wikiinafrica.org

 

Français: Florence Devouard

Portable: +33 645 60 62 77

Email: fdevouard @ anthere.org

 

NOTES POUR LE RÉDACTEUR:

ÉQUIPES D’ORGANISATEURS LOCALES
Pour savoir ce qui se passe à l’échelle locale et pour contacter les équipes cliquez ici.

PRIX:

  • 1er prix: US$600
  • 2e prix: US$400
  • 3e prix: US$200
  • Prix de l’Organisateur: US$200
  • Lauréat de l’essai-photo Les Femmes au Travail: US$200
  • Lauréat de l’essai-photo Les Métiers et Artisanats Rares, Traditionnels ou en Voie de Disparition: US$200

Chaque lauréat recevra aussi une batterie portable de Wiki Loves Africa ainsi qu’un t-shirt Wiki Loves Africa.

JURÉS INTERNATIONAUX

Né au Cap en 1962, David Brazier a étudié la photographie à Harare Polytechnic et a ensuite énormément voyagé muni de son appareil photo. Au début des années 1990, il a fondé un petit studio photo professionnel à Harare, se focalisant sur des travaux d’architecture, d’environnement et de développement et a aussi travaillé comme pigiste pour l’Agence France Presse à Harare. Son travail sur l’architecture a été publié par le New York Times, le International Ove Arup Journal et l’Architectural Review. Ses photos ont figuré dans le Zimbabwean Review journal, la Revue Noire, la couverture du magazine TIME (Afrique), Le National Geographic Afrique, Claiming Landscapes, Warscapes et le magazine Ogogi.. www.davidbrazier.photography

Doris Anson-Yevu appelé Kafui est une photographe du Ghana et une entrepreneuse sociale. Elle est la fondatrice de Photowalk Ghana et travaille en tant que Gestionnaire des Programmes à Impact Hub Accra. Retrouvez son travail sur www.flickr.com/photos/kafuiday. Suivez-la sur www.instagram.com/kafuiday  et www.twitter.com/kafuiday.

Habib M’Henni est un Wikipédien depuis longtemps et Wikimedia, photographe amateur et contributeur à Wikimedia Commons. Il est activement engagé dans le groupe Wikimedia Tunisia User Group. Il fut aussi un membre du jury de Wiki Loves Africa de 2014 à 2017. Contact: http://about.me/habibmhenni

Ibtihel Zaatouri est une photographe Tunisienne et une prof de Français. Elle a créé  l’ONG des photographes Tunisiens en 2012 en Tunisie et a participé à de nombreuses expositions. Ses photos ont fait la Une de journaux allemands DW et d’Ijab magazine et ont été publiées sur des journaux en-ligne. Vous pouvez retrouver ses photos sur Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/ibtihel_zaatouri

Jacques Kouao est un photographe professionnel qui, avec des bloggers et des amis, a décidé de visiter plusieurs villes de la Côte d’Ivoire à la recherche de ces hommes et femmes qui offrent des solutions réelles et pragmatiques face aux problèmes de leurs communautés. L’histoire de leurs aventures depuis janvier 2015 sont disponibles sur helloafrika.net. Jacques est aussi le co-fondateur de  Wikimedia User Group Ivory Coast.

Michael Maggs est le président de Wikimedia UK et est un administrateur et bureaucrate sur Wikimedia Commons. C’est un photographe passionné depuis des années. Vous pouvez trouver ici et  ici des exemples de ses récents projets pour enregistrer des représentations théâtrales et d’opéra.

Sebastiaan Ter-Berg est un photographe soutenannt les licences libres, basé aux Pays-Bas.  

RÈGLES DU CONCOURS

  • Les fichiers médias ne peuvent être téléchargés durant les sessions de téléchargement de masse que par la personne qui a pris la photo.
  • Les fichiers médias ne peuvent être reçus que durant octobre et novembre 2017. Les fichiers peuvent avoir été créés à n’importe quel moment ; des photos anciennes peuvent être soumises à condition que vous en possédiez les droits d’auteur.
  • Toutes photos soumises seront sous la licence: Paternité-Partage des Conditions Initiales à l’Identique 4.0 (CC-BY-SA 4.0).
  • Toutes photos doivent être catégorisées : Wiki Loves Africa 2017. Ceci se fait automatiquement lors des téléchargements.
  • Toutes images avec filigrane ou signature seront disqualifiées.
  • Les participants doivent s’inscrire sur Wikimedia Commons, et activer la fonction e-mail, pour pouvoir recevoir les prix.

ORGANISATIONS IMPLIQUÉES DANS LE CONCOURS

A propos de Wiki In Africa

Wiki In Africa confère le pouvoir et engage les citoyens de l’Afrique et de sa diaspora à collecter, développer et contribuer du contenu éducatif libre et pertinent lié au thème de l’Afrique, le tout sous une licence libre. Il encourage des systèmes de savoirs globaux en encourageant l’accès, la sensibilisation et le soutien au savoir libre, au mouvement libre et aux projets Wikimedia et travaille en collaboration avec des organisations partageant les mêmes motivations.

Wiki In Africa est une organisation à but non-lucratif basée en Afrique du Sud. C’est la structure financière et légale qui opère les initiatives mondiales soutenant le mouvement WikiAfrica. L’organisation est actuellement menée par Iolanda Pensa, Florence Devouard et Isla Haddow-Flood.

En 2018 l’organisation travaille sur  WikiFundi,  WikiChallenge Ecoles d’Afrique (financé par la Fondation Orange), WikiAfrica Schools (en collaboration avec la Fondation Moleskine), Wiki Loves Africa et Wiki Loves Women.

www.wikiinafrica.org   

A propos de WikiAfrica

WikiAfrica est un mouvement international qui prend lieu sur le continent africain et au-delà. Il encourage les individus, les groupes intéressés et les organisations à créer, élargir et améliorer le contenu en-ligne sur l’Afrique. Ceci implique une motivation pour une représentation des réalités contemporaines et de l’histoire du pays, de ses gens et de ses innovations sur l’encyclopédie la plus utilisée au monde, Wikipédia. WikiAfrica n’appartient à aucune organisation mais appartient à tous les gens et organisations qui contribuent à son étendue.

Sous ses diverses apparences et hébergé par de nombreuses institutions (y compris lettera27, Africa Centre, Ynternet.org, Short Story Day Africa, Wikimedia CH et Wiki In Africa), le mouvement WikiAfrica a constamment initié et dirigé des projets innovants à multiples facettes. Ces projets ont activé des communautés et ont apporté du contenu sur Wikipédia. Quelques exemples sont: Share Your Knowledge, les formations et référentiels #OpenAfrica, Kumusha Bus (en Ethiopie et au Ghana), WikiEntrepreneur (en Ethiopie et au Malawi), Kumusha Takes Wiki (Côte d’Ivoire et Ouganda), Wikipedia Primary (financé par SUPSI), Wikipack Africa, WikiAfrica Schools, WikiFundi, WikiChallenge, WikiAfrica Schools, Wiki Loves Women et Wiki Loves Africa. www.wikiafrica.org   

A propos de Ynternet.org

La Fondation Ynternet.org a été créée en 1998 sur l’invitation de la Confédération Suisse pour faciliter, identifier et promouvoir une nouvelle culture d’apprentissage au sein d’environnements numériques. En 2006, elle a changé de statut d’association à fondation, c’est-à-dire d’organe indépendant au sein de la société civile. Basée sur le campus de l’Université  de Battelle (Genève, Suisse), elle sert l’intérêt général dans des projets multilatéraux et des partenariats privé-public. Chaque année, 60-80 contributeurs, y compris des experts, des entrepreneurs sociaux et des bénévoles contribuent à la mission de Ynternet.org qui cherche à promouvoir des comportements responsables dans un environnement numérique. Ynternet.org a été contrôlée avec succès pour ses activités (2013-2015) à l’échelle européenne, à la fois en tant que coordinateur et partenaire sur deux projets européens distincts. www.ynternet.org

A propos de la Fondation Wikimedia

La Fondation Wikimedia, Inc. est une organisation caritative à but non-lucratif qui est dévouée à encourager la croissance, le développement et la distribution de contenus éducatifs libres et multilingues et de fournir gratuitement le contenu entier de ces projets wiki au public. La Fondation Wikimedia intervient sur les plus grands projets d’édition collaborative au monde, y compris sur Wikipédia, un des 10 meilleurs domaines internet. www.wikimediafoundation.org

Astonishing Photographs Celebrate People at Work across Africa on Wikipedia

Astonishing Photographs Celebrate People at Work across Africa on Wikipedia

Wiki In Africa is pleased to announce that the winners of the Wiki Loves Africa photographic and media competition were declared at Wiki Indaba in Tunis. The international jury had the daunting task of selecting the final set of amazing photographs depicting people working across the continent from a record 18,294 photographs (entered by 2,473 people). Other prizes for photo essays were chosen by the organisers and fellow Wikimedians.  There are 6 winners at the international level.

In addition to these prizes above, and in a new category devised for this year, there were prizes given to photographic collections or photo essays that illustrated either Women at Work or Rare or Traditional ways of working. There was an amazing response to this request. You can read more about the category and the criteria for selection here and view the photo essays that were submitted.

The winners in the photo essay category for Rare or Threatened Traditional Ways of Working was The making of thatch in Nigeria by user:Eric Atie and the winner for the category Women at Work was  Zanzibar seaweeds in Tanzania by user:Rachelclarareed.

Congratulations to all of the winners !!

In 2017 Wiki Loves Africa celebrated People at Work as the central theme for the annual visual celebration of Africa’s cultural diversity on Wikipedia. The competition ran from the 1st October to  30th November 2017 and entries were welcome from anywhere on the continent and beyond.

Everyone was encouraged to contribute relevant photos to the competition. Events were held in 11 countries – Algeria, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Mali, Nigeria, Uganda, Tanzania and Tunisia – to build Wikipedia savvy communities around the competition. These events took on the form of introductory workshops, photographic excursions and upload sessions . The events also encouraged ongoing pride in local heritage and cultural practice, as well as to foster a culture of contribution to the internet to shake up the single story of Africa.

For the last four years, the Wiki Loves Africa contest has encouraged the donation of around 40,000 photographs to Wikimedia Commons for potential use on Wikipedia. In the first year, under the theme Cuisine, 873 people contributed 6,116 photographs. Cultural fashion and adornment was the theme for the next year, 2015, which saw 722 people contribute over 7,500 photographs. In 2016, Music and Dance contributed 7917 files from 836 people. In 2017, under the theme “People at Work” 18,294 photographs were entered by 2,473 people.

Wiki Loves Africa is activated by the Wikimedia community that created Wikipedia in support of WikiAfrica movement. The competition was conceptualised and is managed by Florence Devouard and Isla Haddow-Flood of Wiki In Africa as a fun and engaging way to rebalance the lack of visual representations and relevant content that exists about Africa on Wikipedia. The competition is supported by Ynternet.org. It is funded by the Wikimedia Foundation and supported in-kind by UNESCO and a host of local partners in individual countries. The images donated are available for use on the internet and beyond, under the Creative Commons license CC BY SA 4.0.

###

USEFUL INFORMATION:

Key Links:

Media release by Wiki In Africa

For international media queries contact:

English: Isla Haddow-Flood

Cell: +27 76 077 3135

Email: isla @ wikiinafrica.org

 

French: Florence Devouard

Cell: +33 645 60 62 77

Email: fdevouard @ anthere.org

 

NOTES FOR THE EDITOR:

LOCAL ORGANISING TEAMS
To see what’s going locally and to contact the teams, please click here.

PRIZES:

  • 1st prize: US$600
  • 2nd prize: US$400
  • 3rd prize: US$200
  • Organiser’s prize: US$200
  • Winner of Women at Work Photo Essays: US$200
  • Winner of Rare and Endangered Work Practices Photo Essays: US$200

Each winner will also receive a Wiki Loves Africa branded power pack and a Wiki Loves Africa t-shirt.

 

INTERNATIONAL JURORS

Born in Cape Town in 1962, David Brazier studied photography at the Harare Polytechnic after which he travelled extensively with his camera. In the early 1990’s he founded a small professional studio in Harare focusing on architectural, environmental and development assignments and worked as a stringer for Agence France Press in Harare. His architectural work has been published in the New York Times, the International Ove Arup Journal and the Architectural Review. His photos have been featured in the Zimbabwean Review journal, Revue Noire, the cover of TIME Magazine (Africa), National Geographic Africa, Claiming Landscapes, Warscapes, Ogogii magazine. www.davidbrazier.photography

Doris Anson-Yevu aka Kafui is a Ghanaian photographer and social entrepreneur. She is the founder of Photowalk Ghana and works as Programme Manager at Impact Hub Accra. Find her work on www.flickr.com/photos/kafuiday. Follow her on www.instagram.com/kafuiday  and www.twitter.com/kafuiday.

Habib M’Henniis a long time Wikipedian and Wikimedia, amateur photographer, and contributor to Wikimedia Commons. He is very actively involved in Wikimedia Tunisia User Group]. He also was a member in Wiki Loves Africa Jury from 2014 to 2017. Contact: http://about.me/habibmhenni

Ibtihel Zaatouri is a Tunisian photographer and a French language teacher. She created an ONG of Tunisian photographers in 2012 in Tunisia and participated in many exhibitions. Her photos are published on the cover of the German newspapers DW and Ijab magazine also in web journals. Her photographs can be found under her Flickr channel: www.flickr.com/photos/ibtihel_zaatouri

Jacques Kouao is a professional photographer who, with bloggers and friends, decided to visit various cities of Ivory Coast in search of these men and women that provide real and pragmatic solutions to the problems of their communities. The story of their adventures since January 2015 is available on helloafrika.net. Jacques is also co-founder of the Wikimedia User Group Ivory Coast.

Michael Maggs is the Chair of Wikimedia UK and is an administrator and bureaucrat on Wikimedia Commons. He has been a keen photographer for many years. Examples of recent projects to record theatre and opera performances can be found here and here.

Sebastiaan Ter-Berg is a dedicated open-licenced photographer who is based in the Netherlands.

RULES OF THE COMPETITION

  • Media can only self-uploaded or uploaded during a registered mass upload session by the person who took that image.
  • Media can only be entered during October and November 2017. The media can have been created at any time; e.g. historic photographs can be entered as long as you own the copyright.
  • All entries will have to have the following licence: Creative Commons Attribution Share Alike 4.0 (CC-BY-SA 4.0).
  • All eligible pictures must be categorised under Wiki Loves Africa 2017. This is assigned during the upload process.
  • Any entries with watermarks or signatures embedded on the image or file will be disqualified.
  • Participants must register on Wikimedia Commons and have e-mail enabled to be eligible for prizes.

 

ORGANISATIONS INVOLVED IN THE COMPETITION

About Wiki In Africa

Wiki In Africa empowers and engages the citizens of Africa and its diaspora to collect, develop and contribute open educational and relevant content that relates to the theme of Africa under a free license; and to engage in global knowledge systems by encouraging access to, awareness of, and support for open knowledge, the open movement and the Wikimedia projects, working in collaboration with like-minded organisations.

Wiki In Africa is a non-profit organisation that is based in South Africa. It is the financial and legal structure that operates global initiatives in support of the WikiAfrica movement. The organisation is currently lead by Iolanda Pensa, Florence Devouard and Isla Haddow-Flood.

During 2018 it is working on WikiFundi and the WikiChallenge African Schools (funded by the Orange Foundation), WikiAfrica Schools (in collaboration with the Moleskine Foundation), Wiki Loves Africa and Wiki Loves Women.

www.wikiinafrica.org   

About WikiAfrica

WikiAfrica is an international movement that takes place on the African continent and beyond. It encourages individuals, interested groups and organisations to create, expand and enhance online content about Africa. This involves motivating for the representation of the continent’s contemporary realities and history, its peoples and its innovations on the world’s most used encyclopaedia, Wikipedia. WikiAfrica is not owned by one organisation and it belongs to all people and organisations contributing to its scope.

In its various guises and hosted at several institutions (including lettera27, Africa Centre, Ynternet.org, Short Story Day Africa, Wikimedia CH and Wiki In Africa), the WikiAfrica movement has consistently instigated and led multi-faceted innovative projects. These projects have activated communities and driven content onto Wikipedia. Examples include Share Your Knowledge, #OpenAfrica training Courses and Toolkits, Kumusha Bus (in Ethiopia and Ghana), WikiEntrepreneur (in Ethiopia and Malawi), Kumusha Takes Wiki (Cote d’Ivoire and Uganda), Wikipedia Primary (funded by SUPSI), Wikipack Africa, WikiAfrica Schools, WikiFundi, WikiChallenge, WikiAfrica Schools, Wiki Loves Women and Wiki Loves Africa.

www.wikiafrica.org 

About Ynternet.org

Ynternet.org Foundation was created in 1998 on the invitation of Swiss Confederation to facilitate, identify and promote new learning culture within digital environments. In 2006 it changed its status from association to foundation, as an independent body within civil society. Based in the university campus of Battelle (Geneva, Switzerland), it is serving public interest in multilateral projects and private-public partnership. 60-80 contributors each year, including experts, social entrepreneurs and volunteers, are contributing to Ynternet.org mission of promoting responsible behaviours in digital environment. Ynternet.org has been successfully audited for its activities (2013 – 2015), at European level, both as coordinator and partner on two separate EU projects.

www.ynternet.org

About the Wikimedia Foundation

The Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. is the nonprofit charitable organisation that is dedicated to encouraging the growth, development and distribution of free, multilingual, educational content, and to providing the full content of these wiki-based projects to the public free of charge. The Wikimedia Foundation operates some of the largest collaboratively edited reference projects in the world, including Wikipedia, a top-ten internet property.

www.wikimediafoundation.org